I made Front Page News!

Yep, that’s right! I was fortunate enough to be on the front page of Island Sun, one of Solomon Islands’ national newspapers. Here’s how it happened:

When I travelled to Everest Base Camp in September, my mum asked me to take the Solomon Islands flag with me. I happily did so, knowing it was special to her (and me because I wanted to reconnect with my pacific roots). What I didn’t realise was just how important this simple act would be to many others.

The picture I took with the flag was a hit on Facebook. I was surprised to see that it had been shared almost 30 times! When I went to the Solomon Islands last month, several people thanked and congratulated me. I was even asked to write an article for the paper. So I thought, why not?

It all happened very quickly. I took my article to Island Sun’s office, where I was interviewed by the newspaper’s chief of staff, Georgina Kekea. The next day, the article was out.

Georgina did a wonderful job with the piece, using both my article and quotes from the interview. I wasn’t expecting to be on the front page either, so that was an added bonus!

To read the full article, follow the link below: